bosnia report
No. 3 January - 1994
British MPs Demand Action not Words in Bosnia

On 12 January 1994 in the House of Commons the following Early Day Motion was tabled by MPs Calum MacDonald, Kate Hoey, Malcolm Wicks, Mike Watson, Max Madden and Chris Mullin and signed by a further ninety-eight of their Labour colleagues.

Nato and Bosnia

"That this House, although welcoming the renewed commitment to securing a peaceful settlement in Bosnia by the North Atlantic Council meeting in Brussels on 10 and 11 January, is, however, mindful of the huge credibility gap between strong and principled declarations and weak and ineffective actions in the past; calls, therefore, upon the NATO governments to achieve the three immediate objectives stated in the Brussels Declaration, namely, the opening of Tuzla Airport, the relief of the UNPROFOR garrison in Srebrenica, and an end to the strangulation of the safe areas, by the end of January; and believes that failure to achieve these goals within this timetable will show the Brussels Declaration to be just another act of hypocrisy in the long betrayal of Bosnia, and will further damage the credibility of NATO itself as a forum for stability and conflict-prevention in Eastern and Central Europe."

Signed by:

Nick Ainger Janet Anderson John Austin-Walker
Tony Banks Harry Barnes Kevin Barron
John Battle Hugh Bayley Gerald Bermingham
Roger Berry Clive Betts Roland Boyes
Keith Bradley Richard Burden Anne Campbell
Ronnie Campbell D.N. Campbell-Savours Eric Clarke
David Clelland Harry Cohen Michael Connarty
John Cummings Lawrence Cunliffe Ian Davidson
Bryan Davies Terry Davis John Denham
Brian Donohoe ÌÌÌÌÌÌÌÌ°Jim Dowd Jimmy Dunnachie
Angela Eagle Ken Eastham Derek Enright
John Evans Andrew Faulds Frank Field
Paul Flynn Maria Fyfe John Garrett
Bruce George Norman A. Godman Roger Godsiff
Nigel Griffiths Win Griffiths Bruce Grocott
John Gunnell Peter Hain Mike Hall
Peter Hardy John Heppell Keith Hill
Kate Hoey John Robertson Jimmy Hood
Geoffrey Hoon Kevin Hughes John Hutton
Eric Illsley Adam Ingram Lynne Jones
Tessa Jowell Alan Keen Jane Kennedy
Robert Litherland Ken Livingstone Tony Lloyd
Calum Macdonald Max Madden Peter Mendelson
John Marek John McAllion John McFall
William McKelvey Andrew Miller Austin Mitchell
Lewis Moonie Elliot Morley Estelle Morris
Chris Mullin Mike O'Brien Robert Parry
Colin Pickthall Peter L. Pike Greg Pope
Bridget Prentice Gordon Prentice Ken Purchase
Giles Radice Stuart Randall Nick Raynsford
Martin Redomond Barbara Roche George Stevenson
Jack Thompson Paddy Tipping Keith Vaz
Joan Walley Mike Watson Malcolm Wicks
Alan W. Williams Brian Wilson David Winnick
Tony Worthington Tony Wright


   Table of contents

  Latest issue



  Support the Institute


home | about us | publications | events | news | Library | contact | bosnia | search | bosnia report | credits